top of page
MNF Scholarships

The Michigan Nurses Foundation was created in 2000 to advance nursing and nursing education by awarding scholarships and research grants and by providing financial aid for the treatment of recovering nurses. MNF is funded through private contributions and fundraising activities. Four $1,000 scholarships are awarded annually to nursing students.

The following are the minimum nursing scholarship eligibility criteria:

  • The applicant must be a student currently attending a Michigan college/school of nursing that grants a certificate for practical nursing or an associate, baccalaureate or higher degree in nursing.

  • The applicant must be in good academic standing with demonstrated progress toward degree completion.


Each candidate must complete an application form and comply with application requirements in order to receive consideration. Incomplete applications will not be reviewed. Applications must be submitted by May 1 in order to be considered. The Scholarship Committee will screen applications and submit recommendations to the MNF Board of Directors for review and approval.

​Scholarship application

​Click here to view past scholarship recipients

Evelyn Grace Peraino Memorial Scholarship
Evelyn Grace Peraino_edited.jpg

The Evelyn Grace Peraino Memorial Scholarship honors the pediatric nurses who cared for Evelyn during her brief 3.5 months of life, their genuine passion for patient care, and the kindness they showed both to Evelyn and to her family.


With a gift from the Evelyn Grace Foundation, the Michigan Nurses Foundation awards a minimum $1,000 Scholarship annually to a nurse employed in a pediatric setting wanting to continue their education at a college or university in the State of Michigan. Evelyn's legacy lives on through supporting pediatrics nurses who are seeking to further their education.

Safe Patient Care Nursing Practice Scholarship, sponsored by Diane & John Goddeeris

The Michigan Nurses Foundation is pleased to announce the Safe Patient Care Nursing Practice Scholarship. Professional healthcare conferences at the national level are outstanding opportunities for nurses to expand their knowledge of various aspects of nursing including patient care and/or fields of expertise. Additionally, conferences provide a unique opportunity to interact with nurses representing other institutions who have similar interests.  Unfortunately, the cost incurred by travel, lodging, registration, and associated expenses for these highly beneficial experiences often render the opportunity prohibitive. This scholarship is intended to defray at least a portion of such costs and thereby enable nurses to take advantage of this valuable experience.

Scholarship application

Margaret Louise Miller Leipold, RN Memorial Scholarship

Mrs. Leipold bequeathed funds to the Michigan Nurses Foundation Scholarship Fund in 2010. Her daughters, Becky Baldwin RN and Nancy Leipold RN, PhD, executed this bequest in 2011. This scholarship was the result of Margaret Leipold’s passion for mentoring both younger nurses and nursing students.  It was her desire to continue a love for the profession through the financial support of students. To assist in reaching their goal of becoming a nurse, a minimum $1000 scholarship will be awarded annually to a second year associates degree nursing student enrolled in a community college in the State of Michigan.

Scholarship application

Click here to view past Leipold scholarship recipients

Research in Nursing Grant Award

The Research in Nursing Grant Award is a $5,000 competitive research award to fund research or utilization of research in practice. The principal investigator for the grant must be a regular MNA member in good standing and a registered nurse who is licensed to practice in Michigan and living in the state, and possess or be working on a masters or doctoral degree.

Research in Nursing Grant Award Application

bottom of page